Texas State University Logo
Banner Image
Undergraduate Academic Center 355
Phone 512.245.7582
Fax 512.245.7815


Current Students

Prospective Students

Accreditation Information

Faculty Resources

Join the Conversation

adjust type sizemake font smallermake font largerreset font size

Master of Public Administration

Master of Public Administration

The Master of Public Administration program (MPA), offered through the Department of Political Science, is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration.

Distinguishing characteristics of the program include opportunities for students from a variety of academic backgrounds; a choice of diverse subspecialties; rich and frequent contact between students and faculty; opportunities for professional networking for students with alumni; focus on continued professional development; emphasis on management in political institutions and processes; integrations of theoretical and applied approaches to management.

Courses are available in San Marcos, Austin, Round Rock and over the internet. Students have the opportunity to take late afternoon or evening classes.

The Master of Public Administration Program's mission is to cultivate practical, research-oriented students for careers as reflective practitioners guided by democratic values, integrity, and service.

All MPA students complete a common set of 10 core classes and 3 specialization area courses. All students are required to complete the Applied Research Project and pass an oral examination. The MPA faculty brings a variety of perspectives to the program and endeavors to share the latest and most pressing issues with students through courses and the Applied Research Project. The Faculty encourages students to think critically and creatively in addressing public concerns and problems.

MPA Mission Statement